Danville diamonds shine bright

Recently Danville Park Girls’ High School held  its 49th Annual Speech Day. It was a wonderful occasion to recognise the achievements of the class of 2016. The school also honoured Mrs Maddams’ long service of 24 years as the principal of Danville. On behalf of the Education Department, Mr Ntuli ( Umlazi District Director) presented Mrs Maddams with an award for her contribution to education in the Durban North area. Then Mr Martin Elsner, Chairman of the Governing Body, presented Mrs Maddams with a plaque, renaming the multipurpose room as the Cally Maddams Auditorium.

The Speech Day guest speaker was past pupil, Dr Bibi Bassa, who shared a message of inspiration and success with the girls.

Some of the award winners include: Corize who received the Annalien Fouche Trophy for the most dedicated and outstanding Sport Captain; the Spearman Trophy for Accounting was awarded to Fezeka ; the Hobbs Trophy for Altruistic Service was awarded to Reyanka , who also shared the Howard Trophy for Commendable Progress in an Extra-Curricular Activity with Inga; Kwenzokuhle (Snayo) won the Blake Trophy for School Spirit; the Fiona Clarke Super Sports Girl of the Year Trophy this year went to Caitlyn ; Magrietha won the Thelland Trophy for Mathematics and Talia won the Cara Hosken Memorial Trophy and the P W Story Art Trophy; The Aileen Reid Trophy for Mathematical Literacy went to Emma and Chloe won the Gooch Trophy for Conscientious Endeavour. Chantelle received the Helene Richter Media Centre Service Trophy and Jodie received the Stewart History Trophy; the Barwick Leadership Trophy went to the 2016 Head Girl, Christie . Taryn won the ML Thompson Trophy for Creative Writing, Special Art Prize and shared the Dee Pratt English Trophy with Ruchira .

The Hollander Good Fellowship Trophy this year went to Rochelle and Simphiwe was awarded both the Elaine van Rensburg Memorial Trophy and The Trophy for All-Round Cultural Contribution to the School. Senzokuhle won the Smerdon Trophy for Music and Mawande received the Goddard Drama Trophy.

Romal was awarded the coveted Dux Trophy, the Pricewaterhousecoopers Shield for the Top Maths student AND Top Accounting student, and shared the Nieuwoudt Trophy for Life Sciences with Taryn Govender, who also won the Angela Collins Memorial Trophy for Proxime Accessit.